Tomato, Tomato

It’s been a week now since I started using the Pomodoro technique, as mentioned in my previous post.

Honestly, I feel so much more productive, but not entirely because of the technique itself. Let me explain.

The structure of the Pomodoro technique is to focus on a task for 25 minutes, then take a 5 minute break. Wash, rinse, repeat until your task is complete. And that works for smaller tasks I have to do, like cleaning up around the house. But for larger tasks, like studying a language, I can’t follow through. The reason is because once I start on an all-consuming task like studying, I get into a groove and get annoyed when I’m interrupted.

(That’s a good problem to have, I think.)

So while the technique is cumbersome in that situation, it helps me start my work when I’m feeling the pull of procrastination. And, next thing I know, it’s been well past the original 25 minutes and I’m on a roll.

The beauty of finding a technique like Pomodoro is that you can adapt it to your own personal needs. If I stick straight to how it’s supposed to be done, I think I would’ve quit two days in. However, I’ve made it a week already and my focus tasks are becoming more and more like second nature every day. Plus, I feel more accountability to continue because I’ve molded it around how I operate, rather than the other way around.

I guess that’s the point of this post. Don’t feel like you need to be locked into a specific routine because you have to be. Find something that works for you, and make it work for you.

Leave a Reply

